The southern Provincial Council was established on 03.02.1998 under the provisions of provincial councils Act No 42 0f 1987 and under the 13th Amendment to the constitution of Sri Lanka.
Nine Provinces of Sri Lanka are named in terms of schedule 8 of the 13th amendment to the constitution & Southern Province is also included in the schedule. His Excellency the President has assigned the name Southern Province, Provincial Council & declared that the Provincial council shall consist of 55 members by the order published in the extraordinary Gazette No 491/17 date 05.02.1988.

The Southern Province (Sinhala: Dakunu Palata, Tamil: Thaen Maakaanam) of Sri Lanka is small geographic erea consisting of the districts of Galle, Matara and Hambantota. Important landmarks of the Southern Province include the wildlife sanctuaries of the Yala, bird sanctuary of Bundala, ancient cities of Tissamaharama, Kirinda, Matara and Galle , Hambantota Harbour, International Cricket Stadium & Mattala International Airport.Uda Walawe National Parks, the holy city of kataragama are easily accessible from Hambantota.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 »

Image Gallery

Contact Us

Ruhunu Tourist Bureau (office)

Address:No.153B,S.H.Dahanayaka Mawatha, Galle , Sri Lanka
Telephone: +094 912224072
Fax: +094 912224075